what do you use for your authentication?

July 22, 2006 at 5:29 pm 1 comment

rdAuth or othAuth? hmm..

I used rdAuth first and felt comfortable using it in my first project. Its really simple to use but when faced with a more complicated system that requires a more complicated authentication and redirection, my doubt begun using rdAuth. I was looking for another alternative such as ACL but hmmm.. I really do not like to read a lot and have no time to experiment on it.

Then i read about othAuth. I think othAuth is also ok and simple to use. It just that it has some configs that I cant afford to have such as the active field. I also do not like to set the group_id before i log in bec i actually need the group_id to tell where to redirect the user and I only want a single login page. Maybe im just toooo lazy to understand it but yeah i admit it, Im really lazy.. hehehe .. Another factor also that keeps me from using another auth system is that i already used rdAuth all over my code.. hmm.. that is quite a mess! anyway, i have no choice but to find a solution. So I extended rdAuth to set and get some permissions directly from the db. Thanks to othAuth for the idea 🙂

Anyway, any other good and simple auth system out there?

Update: I’ve created a new post for the xtended component. Read it here.

Entry filed under: baking tips, cakephp, general.

OpenDNS, an option to experience a faster(and smarter) internet surfing extended rdAuth

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. othy  |  November 22, 2006 at 2:39 am

    Thanks to othAuth for the idea
    ========================
    you’re welcome 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

July 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

